Articles and Reviews

Articles and Videos Published about Painted Bar Stables

 
Video Feature on Painted Bar Stables
by Panorama
ICTV-16

Horses in my Dreams
by Mindy Arledge
Life in the Finger Lakes Magazine

More Than Lakes
By Steve Bailey
American Forests

 

Reviews of Painted Bar Stables

 

Painted Bar Stable is very lucky to have awesome trails with good footing right off the farm. Erika and her buckaroos' gang are excellent people to ride with and train your horse building a trustworthy trail horse. Did a wonderful job with my horse, Ricco's, training just heading the hills, rolling the meadows, alone, or in a large group and ALL YOUR TROUBLES WILL MELT AWAY!
Dacia Hirsch, Canandaigua, N.Y.
January 7, 2013

Divider

Having grown up with quarter horses, riding has always been a big love of mine and despite living in Manhattan, I still ride regularly and am always seeking out new and interesting places to ride that feature unusual breeds and exquisite scenery.... I recently found a farm by the name of Painted Bar Stables, 5 miles outside of Watkins Glen in the Finger Lakes area of NY and it's a real gem...
Erika, the farm owner, is young and vibrant, has an infectious enthusiasm, a stable full of gorgeous Paint horses and gaited Tennessee Walkers and Kentucky Mountain horses (Mack is my favorite), and it's just got that special something - the farm borders the Finger Lakes National Forest, and the region itself is chock full of vineyards, beautiful lakes, gorges and waterfalls - it's a visual feast for the eyes. The horses also travel tight in packs (much like your ride with the Icelandics - these horses are bomb proof, but in a good way that lets an advanced rider have fun on a horse they haven't ridden before). The first time I rode there, we cut through new trails, went over steep ledges into a ravine (she asked if we were up for an adventure..), rambling through streams, and galloping through neighboring cornfields - it was a heavenly ride to say the least. I was so infatuated with my gaited mount Mack, that I signed up immediately to return in a few weeks time for my first competitive 30 mile endurance ride with Erika and a few of her riding pals. It was hosted by her neighbor and was in it's 10th year, the course was meticulously laid out, full of gorgeous fall foliage scenery, well organized with vet checks at every 10 miles, and at the end featured a neighborhood wide roast with live music and a bonfire.
From one horse lover to another....all the best.
Laura Egan , New York, N.Y.
October 19, 2010

Divider

Thanks again for the ride, we both had a great time!!  If I have any friends visiting the area I'll make sure to recommend you.
Katie DelMonte, Buffalo, N.Y.
September 19, 2010

Divider

From my aspect Painted Bar Stables, and their stallion Sierras All the Gold, are both wonderful! My mare was taken up in April and she received excellent care, as well as being in foal for March 2011. Being that my mare is a child to me, they kept me well informed on how she was behaving and her breeding schedule. I feel honored to have a foal out of this exceptional stallion as well as represent the stable with both my mare and foal! This is a great place to send you mare to be bred by an exceptional stallion with a great dispositon and excellent conformation.
Kelsey Henry
September 4, 2010

Divider

Don't come to Painted Bar Stables if you only want to sit on a horse for 45 minutes. If you want to witness the beauty of the Finger Lakes, form an everlasting bond with an equine friend, become part of a fun and friendly local community, learn about horse care and quirks, have a hands-on experience with horses and barn life, and become a confident horse handler and rider, then Painted Bar Stables is for you. Horse enthusiasts of all ages and skill levels made to feel welcome.
Lisa Birch, Burdett, N.Y.
August 26, 2010

Divider

I have to give Painted Bar Stables a 5 star rating for the care of the horses, the lessons that are given, and the trail rides and the trails. If you haven't given Painted Bar Stables a try, now is the time, don't waste another minute. Sign up for one of the above. Very inexpensive.
Sylvia Cadwell, Dundee, N.Y.
August 26, 2010

Divider

Just got back to the UK today, just wanted to say thank you for a wonderful day on the 18th Aug. Leah did enjoy herself and talked about nothing else for the remainder of the holiday. If we are ever up state NY again, we will look you up ! Thanks Again.
The Mathlin Family, Stowmarket, Suffolk, UK
August 25, 2010

Divider

Thanks so much to you and colin for the photos and for the info on the Trailride. Andressa and I had a wonderful time! You really have a special farm filled with lovely horses! I can't wait to come back for a ride. 
Laura Egan, New York, N.Y.
August 23, 2010

Divider

I want to thank Erika for the wonderful trail ride yesterday - it was the highlight of my niece's vacation. She lives in California and rides every week but had never been on a trail ride before and never rode through water or anything like that so it was quite different for her. She really liked Dozer and Beau and I got along great as well. We will be sure to come ride again. Thanks so much.
Jim Smith, Penn Yan, N.Y.
July 27, 2010

 

Email Painted Bar StablesFacebook Painted Bar StablesTwitter Painted Bar StablesYouTube Painted Bar StablesPainted Bar Stables on InstagramPainted Bar Stables' BlogTrip Advisor

We accept cash, check and credit cards
Gift Certificates are available.

4093 Lake Street (Rte. 79) Burdett, NY 14818
ride@paintedbarstables.com